The Marriage License Department's operating hours are Monday thru Friday from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., excluding holidays. Please arrive early.
- Age 18 and older - Proof of age is required. Official document such as: driver’s license, birth certificate, passport, or military ID.
- Age 16 to 17 - Parental consent of either parent or legal guardian, birth certificate.
- Under 16 - Under 16, marriage is prohibited in this state except by court order.
- Divorce - Persons divorced in Oklahoma may not marry anyone other than their previous spouse for a period of 6 months after the divorce decree is filed.
- Fees - $50 license fee or $5 if premarital counseling is completed. To receive the reduced fee, you must show the Court Clerk’s Office an original certificate of successful completion of a premarital counseling program. The certificate must be an original document, not a copy, and shall state that the named persons have successfully completed the premarital counseling requirements.
- Premarital Counseling - No copies, faxes or emailed counseling certificates are accepted. Premarital counseling programs must be conducted in accordance with Oklahoma Statute 43 O.S. 5.1.
- Waiting Period - No waiting period required except for those under the age of 18. If under the age of 18, there is a 72-hour waiting period.
- Waived Period Exception - A written waiver signed by a judge is required.
- Blood Test - None required under Oklahoma law.
- Residency - None.
- NOTE: Cleveland County Court Judges do not perform marriage ceremonies.
As of Nov. 1, 2022, ministers are no longer required to file credentials with the Cleveland County Court Clerk’s Office, per O.S. Title 43, Section 7.
How much is a marriage license? Are there any discounts?
$50 license fee or $5 if premarital counseling completed. The reduced fee shall apply upon presentation to the Court Clerk of an original certificate of successful completion of a premarital counseling program. The certificate must be an original document, not a copy, and shall state that the named persons have successfully completed the premarital counseling requirements.
No copies, faxes or emailed counseling certificates are accepted. The premarital counseling program must be conducted in accordance with Oklahoma Statute 43 O.S. 5.1.
What is required to obtain a marriage license?
Both parties must present valid identification, which could be:
- Certified copy of your birth certificate issued by the state or county, not the hospital
- State I.D.
- Military I.D.
- Other state or federal document issued as proof of identity and age
- Valid driver's license-not expired
- Valid passport
What is the legal age to get married in Oklahoma?
Applicants 18 years of age or older may obtain a marriage license without parental consent. Minors 16 or 17 years of age may obtain a marriage license when one of the legal custodial guardians or parents is present with valid photo identification, with a certified copy of each minor’s birth certificate issued by a state or county, not by a hospital.
Foreign language birth certificates must be translated into English by an official translator. There is a 72-hour waiting period for minors before the license may be issued.
How can I get a copy of my marriage license?
How can I get an annulment?
We suggest that you contact your attorney. By law, we cannot render legal advice.
What do I need to do to be common law married? And, is common law marriage legal in Oklahoma?
We suggest that you contact your attorney or someone in the legal field to answer those questions for you.
What if neither applicant speaks English?
Applicants must provide a third person to translate.