News Flash Home
The original item was published from 6/16/2022 1:58:00 PM to 6/21/2022 4:17:40 PM.

News Flash

Home - County News

Posted on: May 11, 2022

[ARCHIVED] Cleveland County launches new precinct maps

district and precinct maps

Cleveland County GIS mapping specialist Laura Smith, working with the county election board, has created a new set of precinct maps based on the recent census. Check out Cleveland County’s new precinct and district maps here:

Click the “Voting Precinct” button to see an interactive map. For a downloadable, printable map, scroll to the bottom of the page or simply follow this link:

Additionally, Cleveland County Election Board Secretary Bryant Rains announced that new voter ID cards are being mailed out to all Cleveland County registered voters.

Districts were realigned in accord with the 2020 census which made it a good time to update the voting precinct numbering system, Rains said. This means every single registered voter in the county will get a new ID card. 

“It’s organized by municipality,” he said. “You will have some precincts that have part of both Moore and Oklahoma City in them, but I went with whichever city was dominant in the numbering.”

Rains has used this numbering system before in Oklahoma County and liked the way it worked. 

“There was no rhyme or reason to the precinct numbers previously,” he said. “They had just added to them through the years.”

Since the election board is updating the voter ID cards county-wide, bar codes will also be added to get voters ready for elections of the future.

“The state election board has asked that any new cards have the bar codes now,” Rains said. 

New cards are being mailed daily to Cleveland County voters.

“Precincts lines are determined by the Oklahoma House, Oklahoma Senate and county commissioner lines and those are redrawn every 10 years after the census to adjust to population changes,” Rains explained. “We picked up two senate districts and three house districts so we gained 21 precincts.”

Adding new precincts means the election board must have new assigned polling places. Another change affecting precincts was the request by the state election board to keep precincts under 3,000 voters to keep voter lines shorter. Additionally, the election board can’t split a precinct, meaning that each precinct must have only one county commissioner, one state representative and one state senator, those lines can’t cross. 

“Our precinct lines can’t cross any of those district lines. We end up having a few really small districts because of that,” Rains said. 

To find your voter information with new precinct numbers online, access the OK Voter Portal through either the Cleveland County Election Board or Oklahoma State Election Board website. 

Cleveland County now has 12 State House and six State Senate seats within its borders.

Cleveland County has only one congressional district which is District 4.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home - County News

Cleveland County Treasurer's Office


Posted on: November 30, 2023
Rural Water Tower

County Funds Rural Water Infrastructure

Posted on: February 28, 2023